A friend in need indeed!

Goodies at the Market

Goodies at the Market

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A highway

A highway

Another View of the Market

Another View of the Market
Market a clear view

Market a clear view

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Abdur Rashid's Gas Station

Abdur Rashid’s Gas Station

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was pretty much aware that Africans are friendly. But before coming here I have no idea how much friendly they are. Anyways when I came here first at Kumi, I had to stay for some days at hotel room. Because my house was getting ready and they were installing furniture for me (though its just a bed, a table, two chairs and a fridge L); So I know how frustrating this is to live in a hotel for a long time. And also the fact is it is hard to find a house for rent in Kumi. Anyways back to the fact again. So while I was in my North East resorts room, the hotel management and the employees find out I am being very sadistic because it is giving me hard time living in the hotel for a long time. So they came out of boundary and started chatting with me,  and also they let me in their kitchen even prepare my own dish as they found out the food is giving me hard time without pili pili (Chili). I will remember the farewell they gave me while I was leaving their hotel. And still as Kumi is a very little town I met them some of these hotel employees in various places like market, road on the way to the office and they always put a little smile on face saying “Masuk! How are you? You never came back man!” to reply I also have to make up things, and it is not like the Americans or Europeans gestures. They really mean it! That really surprises me.  And I must say while you are talking with a Ugandan on phone, prepare yourself for great disappointment, they will never tell you How are you and Goodbye, they just say the things on the phone and hung up. So isn’t it was obvious for me to think these guys are not that much friendly? But I was very wrong.

 

Anyways when I shifted myself to the house, a big surprise was waiting for me there. After having all things sorted out and things have taken places perfectly (no way I am always a junkie!). I started living there, after passing someday there I met this awesome Somalian guy who is my neighbor called Abdur Rashid and his helping partner Simon. He owns a gas station here in Kumi and also their family owns six gas stations in Uganda, Kenya and Somalia. Anyways The landlady promises to bring me a stove which is not arrived yet, So I was taking food outside, and also my money was almost finishing because I have a problem with the bank account. So my office cannot pay my money to my bank account because my one is not accessible from Uganda. Anyways long story short I was living alone and taking food outside and missing Bangladeshi food. And I suddenly meet this guy. And his first question was, “you muslim?” I said, “yes why?” and the very next reply from him was “you have to take launch with me today”, I said ok but why and then his reply I was “ I don’t like stories, you have to” I said ok no problem. And when he come to know that my stove is not came yet He said very politely “Masuk! You eat with me no problem man!” Actually it wasn’t very polite he was like you have to because I cannot take food alone. So for a few days I started taking food with him. And then I found out he is paying all the bills even food shopping also. While I ask can I share he says no, you share next time. But that Next time is not coming. So I have to be rude one day and do some shopping cook and share the food with them.  Now we are sharing and taking food together, And Rashid is becoming fan of Bangladeshi food, as he likes spicy ones. And that is how my days are now passing in this crazy African country where children run after me shouting Msungu! Msungu! (Ohh that is the Ugandan way of calling foreigner!)

 

P.S : Photos are taken at the weekly market. Similar to haat in Bangladesh and also at the feeling station of Abdur Rashid

 

Xitu

Kumi, Ugnada, Africa, Earth

mailxitu@gmail.com

 

Simon Is Filing a Boda Boda with Gasoline!

Simon Is Filing a Boda Boda with Gasoline!

 

 

